An Introduction.

Hi,

Welcome to my blog! I’ve never blogged before, but have wanted to for a while. A long while. I decided to start today, because if not now, when? I’m also at the library and procrastinating HARD on all the work I have to do. I always forget how good I am at procrastinating until I’m doing it..

Anyway, if I haven’t bored you enough already… I decided to title this blog, “Looking for the Lovely” because I think there are SO many lovely things that happen in our lives on a daily basis. We might not always notice these lovely things, but they still happen.

For example, last night, I was riding on the escalator at Barnes and Noble and an older woman was riding with a young boy (maybe around 7 or 8 years old, if I had to guess). “You’re the best grandma in the whole wide world!,” he exclaimed. “Well, that’s because you’re the best grandson,” the woman stated.

She caught my eye since I was standing behind her and smiled at me. I smiled back. SEE, an example of a LOVELY moment.

A few weeks ago, I was at the library (I spend a lot of time in coffee shops and book stores and libraries because #gradschoolapps) and there was a woman who was talking about her health issues with another woman near the computers. I was trying to hack into my own email account (ok, not hack, but I was desperately trying to log into my own email account) and I just stopped for a moment and just felt so grateful that such a LOVELY thing was happening around me. Two people who had probably never met before having a very real conversation about something that can be really personal (a person’s health).

Maybe I’m overly sentimental, but I think especially nowadays, when it can SO easily feel like the world is SO shitty, it’s hard to remember that there’s still SO much good in the world and still SO much good in people. I’m not saying that everything in the world is puppies and rainbows and smiley face emoticons and kids eating ice cream cones on a hot summer day all the time. Obviously it’s not. There’s SO much good but there’s also a lot of not so good.

I know there are mass shootings at schools and movie theaters and Planned Parenthood clinics and churches. It just feels like nowhere is safe… but why? WHY? Maybe we’re not meant to understand such senseless acts of violence but I think at some point, really hard questions have to be asked so we can move forward and so CHANGE can be made. So nobody gets a phone call saying that that something happened in the time they dropped their kid off for school and went to pick them up. Aside from mass shootings, there are TONS AND TONS of not so good in the world… there are people who are judged and ridiculed and beaten to death for loving who they love and for being their true, authentic self. There are kids who are scared to go to school because they are being bullied but who also might not be having a blast at home. There are people who are homeless who are looked down upon. There’s domestic abuse and global warming and landfills and expensive college tuitions and rude people and just scary stuff. (please note: this is not an exhaustive list.. but hopefully representative of what I mean).

Maybe all that not so good stuff is just a part of life. Maybe we can deal with all of that stuff if we try really really really hard to look for the lovely.

Maybe the lovely can be really simple.. like somebody holding the door open for you on your way into work this morning… or somebody smiling at you when you were visibly upset in public.. or a friend calling you when you really needed to hear from a friend.

I don’t mean to say that all of this lovely can outweigh the bad all the time. The bad is still there and it’s still bad. I think a lot of things need to be changed about the world we live in.. but I also want to be aware of the fact that right now, I’m alive. I’m breathing. I can do whatever I want with my life. So can you! You can help someone. You can make a difference, if you wanted to. You can smile at a stranger or pay for someone’s coffee or donate unwanted/unused canned goods to a local food bank. You can text a friend and tell them how much they mean to you. You can change the world. All of us can, in some way.

Whatever your lovely is, I hope you have lots of it. Let me know in the comments below, what lovely thing happened in your life lately?

This is corny isn’t it? I don’t care. I’m doing it anyway. Also, the last part of this blog post was written to “The Galaxy is Ours” by Protozoa. Yes, from the Zenon movie.. Do people still know who Zenon is??

I should go. I have to procrastinate- I mean- get work done.

Leave a Reply

