Update on my chronic neck pain

I’m also incredibly shocked when I look at my blog stats which I do more often than I would like to admit. I always feel like nobody cares about my little blog, but if anyone remembers, I wrote a post a few months back about my chronic neck pain. My neck pain had come out of nowhere last April. Almost a year later, my pain is much better, thanks to a handful of visits to a chiropractor and almost a dozen physical therapy sessions and frequent deep tissue massages.. But then, several months ago, I eventually stopped going to the chiropractor and to physical therapy and of course, my neck felt tense and it was painful. It was still nothing compared to how bad the pain was last year. I got a massage three weeks ago after not getting one for months. It felt so nice and it helped relieve some tension. Maybe I’ll go back soon. I’m so grateful that my pain is so much better though. On my worst days last year and last summer, I couldn’t function at all. I was constantly dizzy and I always had terrible headaches. I would have to lie down, but wouldn’t be able to fall asleep because of how much pain I was in. Tynenol didn’t help decrease my pain, but Alleve was a lifesaver. I would take one pill every twelve hours, as needed, and it helped me so much. My doctor had also given me a prescription for some muscle relaxants that I took for ten days. I remember he told me they might make me drowsy and I had to take them with food. The first day I took the muscle relaxant, I fell asleep in the middle of the afternoon, and it was one of those dreamy, luxurious, ultra restful naps, the ones that you can’t stop daydreaming about when you’re in the midst of finals, surrounded by too many coffee cups. I honestly did not know how I would survive, let alone thrive, as a graduate student under that much pain. I hadn’t gotten into a car accident or had an injury. The pain had just come out of nowhere.. well, not necessarily nowhere, as an x-ray showed I had congenital scoliosis (which means I’ve had scoliosis since birth). It’s a very minor case though and I will never have to wear a brace, which I’m grateful for. I had to learn how to change my posture and I have to try to sleep on my back, which is still something I’m reluctant to do. I usually like to sleep on my side. I’m so grateful to have health insurance and doctors who really took the time to learn more about my pain and helped me so much. I wouldn’t be feeling as good as I am today without them. Chronic pain is so, so difficult to deal with. I have so much understanding and empathy for those who are dealing with chronic pain. It’s especially difficult when your pain is not visible to others, because although you might look fine, there’s a chance you are going through hell 😦 Have any of you ever dealt with chronic pain? If so, what helped you?

Leave a Reply

