Hello!

Hi, everyone! It’s been too long. I don’t think I’ve blogged since September :O. This year has flown by. I have no idea how it’s already the end of April. I’ve been a graduate student for the last seven months, but most of the time, I feel like I have no idea what I’m doing.. okay, I guess I do have a bit of an idea. My point is that graduate school is challenging! In the last seven months, I’ve moved 3,000 miles away from school, made wonderful new friends, while still keeping in touch with my friends on the West Coast, I’ve seen actual snow fall, and I’ve managed to get lost while taking the metro multiple times.. I also started working at the campus library  as a library assistant in December. It’s been super nice to work on campus. Oh, and I joined a knitting group that meets every week at a Panera Bread close to me. I found out about the group on Meetup.com and I was really intimidated to go to my first meeting because I consider myself to be a brand new knitter.

I learned how to knit when I was fifteen years old, but I didn’t knit at all in college. I only started knitting again during my gap year. It’s been SO relaxing. I don’t like to meditate, but the repetitive motions of knitting really help me find a sense of peace, much like meditation can bring to others. I also didn’t know if I would be the youngest person at the knitting group. I was so happy to see that there are a wide range of women who attend the group and everyone is so lovely. I spent a long time judging myself for my hobbies and interests, like crafting. I don’t like to go to bars or clubs. In fact, I avoid them like the Black Plague. In all fairness, I have been to bars with friends and it’s just not my scene. I used to think that I was missing out by not going out to bars, but after going and still not having a good time, I’m on my way to accepting the fact that it’s just not for me.I think there comes a point in your life where you realize that other people are not going to judge you as much as you are judging yourself.My idea of a fun night is being curled up on my couch, knitting, and watching Gilmore Girls (even though I’ve seen all the episodes).

In other news, I turn 24 in two days! I’m planning on having a birthday dinner with some friends on my birthday and I’m really looking forward to it. Also, it just so happens that the semester ends tomorrow, so I won’t have class on my birthday. I’m so #blessed.

Even though the semester ends tomorrow, the next semester starts on Monday so I have a whole four days to enjoy myself.. I’ll probably just spend that time knitting because I really know how to have a good time. I started knitting my first sweater at the end of March and I’m really hoping to have it done soon!

As we get closer to the summer, I’m looking forward to going home for three weeks at the end of June. I’m also looking forward to having more East Coast adventures, you know, when I’m not cramming (ahem, I mean studying) for exams.

Thanks for reading! More soon! By soon, I mean actually soon, and not seven months from now. I promise.

xoxo,

Sandra

Leave a Reply

